2nd – 9th March, Kola Tubosun (Nigeria)

This week sees a We the Humanities first as we welcome our very first curator from Nigeria. Kola Tubosun (@baroka) is based in Lagos; he’s a linguist, travel blogger and Yoruba champion. He stepped up at the last minute after a schedule change so I am already eternally grateful to him but I’m also really looking forward to hearing more about his Twitter campaign and learning more about his mother tongue.

My name is Kola Tubosun (full name Kolawole Olugbemiro Olatubosun). I look forward to curating the post next week (week of March 2, 2015).

I currently work as a teacher of English language in a high school in Lagos, Nigeria. I have an MA in Linguistics/TESL from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (2012) and a BA in Linguistics from the University of Ibadan (2005). I’ve procrastinated on starting a PhD for as long as possible. I also got a Fulbright fellowship in 2009 through which I taught Yoruba at SIUE for ten months. I have also worked at the International Institute of St. Louis as an adult literary tutor-volunteer.

During the week of my hosting at WtH, I’ll be talking about my current effort to improve mother tongue use in Nigeria’s governance and educational sectors, and my other effort into making my native language, Yoruba, relevant in information technology. In 2012, I led a campaign to push Twitter to allow the platform be translated into Yoruba. We succeeded in 2014 (techcabal.com/2014/11/14/twitter-yoruba/) and I’m currently involved in the translation process. I also intend to talk about another current project: a multimedia dictionary of Yoruba names, currently raising money on Indiegogo: indiegogo.com/projects/the-yoruba-names-dictionary/x/9532548. I’m interested in thoughts and opinions on lexicography in general and about mother tongue education/second language acquisition in particular.

I look forward to the experience.
Leave a Reply

