26th January – 2nd February – Mahriana Rofheart

This week we’re welcoming Dr Mahriana Rofheart, who’s a researcher based in Georgia (USA).  As well as discussing Senegalese literature and culture she’ll be giving us a blast of science fiction chat (an often-maligned branch of literary studies).  I’m especially looking forward to her discussion of the relation between the researcher and the subject and the extent to which interest and enjoyment of the area intersect.

My name is Mahriana Rofheart (@MRofheart), and I’ll be curating @WetheHumanities this week. I am an Assistant Professor of English at Georgia Gwinnett College, located in Lawrenceville, Georgia near Atlanta. I teach courses in composition and world literature, though my tweets will not address my job directly. All thoughts and opinions will be my own and not my institution’s. I may discuss teaching practices and interests in general, however.

I have a PhD in Comparative Literature from Rutgers University in New Jersey. My book Shifting Perceptions of Migration in Senegalese Literature, Film, and Social Media was published by Lexington Books last year. That work, which came out of my dissertation research, examines novels, films, and hip-hop videos about emigration from Senegal to Europe. Since then, I have been looking at works of speculative and science fiction from Africa and the African diaspora. As a long-time fan of science fiction and fantasy, I am excited about the ways that my current project intersects with topics I enjoy on a personal level. I might tweet a bit about the extent to which humanities researchers do (or do not) “love” the works that they study and what that means.

I am planning to share information about works of speculative fiction, science fiction, and Afrofuturism, particularly from African and Afro-diasporic writers and artists. I am also looking forward to discussing digital art and humanities, possibilities for African languages on the internet (Wolof in particular), African literature more generally, and anything geeky (video games? comic books?) that I can fit logically into my curation.

Leave a Reply

