5th – 12th January 2015 – Lydia Pyne

Kicking off the 2015 for us is Lydia Pyne, who’ll be chatting about history, science, anthropology and archaeology from parts of the world that this account hasn’t touched on yet.

Hi, my name is Lydia Pyne (@LydiaPyne) and I’m most excited to be curating @WetheHumanities this week. I am a writer and historian in Austin, TX.
My writing interests focus on the history of paleoanthropology, archaeology, museums, collections, and material culture. My fieldwork, archival research, and writing projects have ranged from South Africa, Ethiopia, Uzbekistan, and Iran, as well as the American Southwest.

I am currently working on two humanities-based book projects. The first, Famous Fossils, Hidden Histories, traces one hundred years of fossil hominin discoveries – sketching the stories of the fossils as they move from scientific circles to iconic cultural objects. My second book project, Bookshelf, is part of the Object Lesson series from Bloomsbury Press.

I am a contributing editor for The Appendix and I review history, anthropology, and other literary nonfiction through NewPages and The New York Journal of Books. My history of science, archaeology, and paleo blog features posts about some of the texts I work with.

I am excited to talk and tweet about history of science, material culture, and writing – I am looking forward to awesome discussions this upcoming week!

Leave a Reply

