23/06 – 30-06 Maria Xanthou

We’re checking off another country this week with Maria (@MariaGXanthou), who’s a Classics lecturer in Thessaloniki, Greece. With funding a hot topic in academia around the world I’m especially interested to hear about her experiences with the financial crisis and the ways in which it affects research, teaching and day-to-day life in Greece.

Hi to everyone. I am delighted to contribute to the @We the Humanities project, as it provides a unique opportunity for people, both curators and followers, to apply microblogging and share multidisciplinary methodologies in the Humanities.

I teach Classics at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and the Open University of Cyprus. My research interests include Greek lyric poetry, both monodic and choral (Stesichorus, Pindar and Bacchylides), Aristophanic and Attic comedy (5th c. B.C.E.), Attic rhetoric (Isocrates), history of classical scholarship (German classical scholarship of the 19th c.), textual criticism, literary theory, rhetoric, ancient theory of rhetoric (definition and use of asyndeton), e-learning, ICT use for teaching classical languages and integration of ICT methodologies in the curriculum.

I have completed my undergraduate studies at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, where I was born and raised. I have moved to King’s College London for my postgraduate studies, and, then, back to AUTh, where I was awarded a PhD in Classics and a second MSc in Teaching Classics through Information and Communication Technologies. During 2013-2014, I held a Harvard Center for Hellenic Studies Fellowship for research on female figures with special emphasis on motherhood, and their representation in Stesichorean poetry, their affinities with Homeric models and their reception in later classical literature.

During my microblogging for @WetheHumanities I shall inform you on various actions regarding Arts and Humanities in Greece, where artists and intellectuals try to respond to financial crisis with inventiveness and innovation.

Leave a Reply

