24/02-02/03/2014: Louise Jackson

We are very excited to welcome our first curator, Louise Jackson, Head of Learning Enhancement at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.  Louise is curating for 7 days from 10:00am on Monday 24th February.  Feel free to use the comments here to welcome her, or ask any questions you’d like her to answer during her week.  Here’s what she has to say ahead of our launch:

As the inaugural curator for this wonderful idea that is @WetheHumanities, I feel a sense of excitement and a responsibility to be slightly more interesting than I am normally! Part of my job is attending a lot of meetings, but I try to ensure that the meetings are as productive as possible in developing whatever it is we are focusing on in that particular meeting. Aside from the meetings, during the course of the week (which is a normal working week for me) a particular highlight will be hosting from a Learning & Teaching seminar on Tuesday at 5pm. We have a guest speaker from Circus Space (Tim Roberts), discussing the relationship between Higher Education and setting up a degree in Circus Arts. Tim is an inspiring educationalist and has really shaken up the conservative approach to physical arts education. His discussion fits in well with current concerns that Arts & Humanities degrees are being sidelined as non-essential in political moves that have seen the rise of student as consumer rather than a collector and generator of knowledge. During the week I am also delivering a lecture on Gender and Jazz on Thursday at 3pm, which always generates interesting responses, as I play with gender stereotypes and jazz preconceptions. It is also likely that I will be commenting on my commute into London from the South Coast…

I like to share things that interest me on Twitter – my own Twitter feed is full of a wide variety of items that are not just Arts or Higher Education based. I often comment on things that I am curious about or intrigue me, but have absolutely no discernible relationship with my principle interests. I imagine that my time on @WetheHumanities will be filled with much the same.

You can read a little more about my academic self on my home institution website. I am a proud supporter of Arts Emergency, a charity helping to provide mentors and other platforms of support to young creatives.

Louise Jackson.

4 thoughts on “24/02-02/03/2014: Louise Jackson

  1. Pingback: Bloc personal de Rosanna. Per informar-vos sobre Rosanna Cantavella, aneu a http://www.uv.es/cantave » Blog Archive » @wethehumanities launches – Monday 24th February

  2. Pingback: @wethehumanities Launches Today (Guest Post) | Telling Tales

  3. Pingback: @wethehumanities launches – Monday 24th February | Multimodal Machaut

  4. Pingback: We The Humanities | The Story Consultancy Blog

Leave a Reply

